AI Data Centres Tasmania

Around Tasmania explainer · Last updated 26 October 2026, 12:40

Data centres in Tasmania: what’s built, approved and proposed

Tasmania’s hydro-backed grid, cool climate and industrial sites have drawn a wave of data centre plans, mostly large AI facilities in the north. This page sets out what is confirmed, where each project is up to, and what is still only talk, with a source and date for every fact.

We keep confirmed facts (from councils, government, the companies or reputable news reports) separate from proposals that haven’t been named, sited or lodged.

At a glance

3 sites

Firmus Technologies sites: St Leonards (Launceston), Bell Bay and Wesley Vale

444 MW

Firmus’s long-term power request to Hydro Tasmania. No agreement yet; decision expected by the end of 2026

6 proposals

Confidential, non-Firmus proposals totalling at least 500 MW (ABC), or up to 705 MW (The Advocate)

1 MW

VIRIDIS edge data centre approved for the Burnie CBD, targeting the first half of 2027

Project by project

Status labels: Approved Under construction Under appeal Paused Proposed Feasibility Confidential Pending decision AI data centre Standard data centre

Under construction AI data centre

St Leonards, Launceston – Firmus “Launceston AI Factory”

  • Address: 23 Killafaddy Road and part of 66–92 St Leonards Road, St Leonards TAS 7250
  • 84 MW of critical IT load (Firmus), in two 42 MW data halls. Power supply is described as about 104 MW.
  • Power comes under a 3-year Aurora Energy agreement for Hydro power, ramping up to a maximum of 104 MW from November 2026. The price hasn’t been disclosed.
  • The first data hall was topped out in early October 2026.
  • Opening has slipped from the first half of 2026 to early 2027, partly because Aboriginal relics were found on site and needed relocation approval.
  • On 20 October 2026 Firmus told a state parliamentary committee that St Leonards is fully funded and contracted to a customer, which it didn’t name.
  • TasNetworks says Firmus has met five of its six tests for a committed load at St Leonards; the outstanding one is a commitment to proceed. Because of uncertainty over data centre policy, TasNetworks hasn’t yet added the St Leonards load to its network planning assumptions (TasNetworks report, 16 October 2026).

Next: Go-live expected early 2027.

Sources: Firmus, Project Southgate page (undated); DCD, 7 Oct 2026; ABC News, 11 Oct 2026; ABC News, 25 Mar 2026; ABC News, 21 Oct 2026; The Examiner, 17 Mar 2026; PeeringDB, Firmus LST01 record (updated 27 Sep 2025); TasNetworks, 16 Oct 2026

Approved Under appeal AI data centre

Bell Bay / Long Reach (George Town) – Firmus AI Factory

  • Address: Lot 1 East Tamar Highway, Long Reach (former Gunns pulp mill site)
  • About 288 MW maximum demand, in two AI data halls, on the former Gunns pulp mill site in the Bell Bay Advanced Manufacturing Zone.
  • George Town Council approved it 6–1 on 25 August 2026, after 349 submissions and a petition of about 6,000 signatures against it.
  • Firmus has appealed to TASCAT against the condition limiting its 276 diesel generators to emergencies, testing and maintenance (reported 15 September 2026).
  • On 7 October 2026 the EPA Board applied to join the appeal.
  • A community group, the Environmental Awareness Association, is also appealing to TASCAT against George Town Council’s approval, on 12 grounds, including that the council wrongly classed the project as a “utility” (reported by The Examiner on 24 October 2026). No hearing date has been reported.
  • Funding: Bell Bay isn’t yet fully funded. In a statement reported on 21 October 2026, Firmus said it is under option to a customer and will be funded in stages. At the 20 October 2026 committee hearing, Firmus said St Leonards and Wesley Vale stage one are fully funded. Pulse Tasmania reports that its other Tasmanian plans depend on raising capital.
  • TasNetworks expects any Bell Bay load to cause voltage-stability issues around George Town, which would likely need extra reactive support. In the first instance, it says, Basslink exports would be constrained to keep the network compliant (TasNetworks report, 16 October 2026).
  • Full operation depends on power: see the Hydro Tasmania decision below.

Next: Two TASCAT appeals (Firmus’s generator appeal and the community appeal). No hearing dates have been published.

Sources: ABC News, 25 Aug 2026; ABC News, 15 Sep 2026; ABC News, 10 Oct 2026; Firmus, Bell Bay project page (undated); ABC News, 21 Oct 2026; Pulse Tasmania, 23 Oct 2026; The Examiner, 24 Oct 2026; TasNetworks, George Town project assessment conclusions report, 16 Oct 2026; AEMO notice, 21 Oct 2026

Proposed Paused AI data centre

Wesley Vale (Latrobe) – Firmus AI Factory

  • Address: 174 and 226 Mill Road, Wesley Vale
  • Latrobe Council application 066/2026 was lodged by Pitt & Sherry and is listed by council as Pending. A separate R&D application, 125/2026, is listed below.
  • 52 MW, on part of the former paper mill site at Mill Road, next to Wesley Vale substation. The plan includes 40 diesel backup generators.
  • On 7 September 2026 Latrobe Council asked the Planning Minister to declare it a Major Project.
  • Firmus has been asked for further information under the Major Projects process. The State Planning Office says the Minister has asked Firmus for a major project proposal by 15 December 2026, as the council’s referral didn’t include one. If the deadline is missed, the application is treated as withdrawn.
  • On 25 September 2026 Latrobe Council issued a notice over excavation it believed went beyond the forest practices plan. Firmus paused work, and the investigation was ongoing as of 11 October 2026.
  • On 20 October 2026 Firmus’s energy general manager told a state parliamentary committee that “Wesley Vale stage one is also fully funded”. A Firmus statement said stage one is contracted to a customer and has funding allocated, but is still awaiting development approval.

Next: 15 December 2026 information deadline.

Sources: The Urban Developer, 19 Oct 2026; The Advocate, 8 Sep 2026; Pulse Tasmania, 25 Sep 2026; The Advocate, 28 Sep 2026; ABC News, 11 Oct 2026; ABC News, 21 Oct 2026; Latrobe Council, 26 Oct 2026 meeting agenda (p. 152); Pulse Tasmania, 23 Oct 2026; State Planning Office, Wesley Vale Data Centre page (accessed 26 Oct 2026)

Approved Standard data centre

Burnie CBD – VIRIDIS Green Data Centres (VDC-2)

  • Address: not published (described only as an Alexander St building in the Burnie CBD)
  • About 1 MW Tier III edge data centre in an existing commercial building in the Burnie CBD, using its existing grid connection. Free-air cooling, so no water-consuming cooling plant.
  • Burnie City Council granted an unconditional permit (reported April 2026).
  • Target go-live is the first half of 2027.

Next: Construction and fit-out. A September 2026 Burnie chamber of commerce report mentions “October 2027” instead, so the timing may shift.

Sources: VIRIDIS, approval release (Apr 2026); DCD, 9 Apr 2026; Business Northwest president’s report, 15 Sep 2026; Campbell Newman (Arcana Capital), LinkedIn post (undated, accessed 22 Oct 2026)

Proposed Pending decision AI data centre

Wesley Vale (Latrobe) – Firmus R&D AI Factory

  • Address: 226 Mill Road, Wesley Vale. This is an existing warehouse on the former paper mill land, next to the proposed 52 MW AI Factory.
  • Latrobe Council application 125/2026 was lodged in September 2026 by consultants Pitt & Sherry. Council describes it as “Change of Use of existing building for proposed Research & Development Data Centre, Development of Minor Utilities external power supply structures”. Council lists it as Pending.
  • Up to 26 MW of electricity demand, using existing capacity at the TasNetworks Wesley Vale substation on a non-firm basis. This means its power can be automatically reduced or disconnected to support the network.
  • Firmus says the facility will test battery storage and the shifting of computing work to match available power. It will use about 224 kL of water a year for cooling and create about 20 permanent jobs. Firmus calls it a separate development that is part of the broader Wesley Vale development area.
  • Firmus describes the first stage of the 52 MW AI Factory as “an initial connection at 26 MW, using existing industrial electrical infrastructure”.
  • Council’s written answers say the application is a “separate, stand-alone development”, that “a research project/development does not exclude any commercial interest”, and that it will be referred to TasNetworks.
  • Council’s proposed response for its 26 October 2026 meeting is that it will not refer the application to the Planning Minister as a Major Project. Council says it does not believe the application is “of a significant scale and complexity”. The proposed response also says the site will have “a minimal number of generators”, significantly fewer than the adjoining data centre.
  • As at 22 October 2026, the application was not on council’s public exhibition page. Council has not published whether it is being assessed as a permitted or discretionary application.

Next: 26 October 2026 Latrobe Council meeting (5pm, livestreamed), where the proposed responses will be considered.

Sources: Latrobe Council, 26 Oct 2026 meeting agenda (pp. 33–35, 152); Firmus, Wesley Vale R&D AI Factory Q&As (undated); Firmus, Wesley Vale AI Factory project page (undated)

Proposed Feasibility AI data centre

North-west “Project B” – possibly near Nook (Kentish)

  • Address: not disclosed
  • On 21 October 2026, at a state parliamentary energy committee hearing, the acting Coordinator-General confirmed a 200–300 MW data centre proposal in the north-west, known as “Project B”, at feasibility stage.
  • It was raised after a Greens MP said Nook residents near Sheffield had been cold-called about selling farmland next to the substation.
  • The government says the proposal is still under consideration by the proponent and no final site has been confirmed. The company hasn’t been named.
  • Kentish Council’s view: in its inquiry submission, the council says data centres are treated as a “Utilities” use, which is permitted in the Rural zone. So one that met all of the planning scheme’s acceptable solutions (its standard requirements) would be approved without public advertising, and the council could impose conditions only on matters covered by the scheme. It wants a specific use class for data centres and, until then, assessment as major projects by the Tasmanian Planning Commission. The submission makes a general point and doesn’t mention Project B or Nook.

Next: The question of who is behind it was taken on notice.

Sources: ABC News, 21 Oct 2026; Pulse Tasmania, 21 Oct 2026; Kentish Council, inquiry submission no. 102 (undated)

Confidential Proposed AI data centre

Six confidential proposals

  • Address: not disclosed
  • A government document tabled in September 2026 lists six data centre proposals, not from Firmus, totalling at least 500 MW (ABC) or up to 705 MW (The Advocate). The companies are kept confidential.
  • They include Project B (above), a 200–300 MW concept at an undefined site, and a 50 MW concept that has expressed interest in the closed Liberty Bell Bay smelter site. Others are up to 50 MW.
  • Many haven’t yet talked to generators or TasNetworks.

Next: Proponents and most sites remain confidential; we will add details as they are made public.

Sources: ABC News, 8 Sep 2026; The Advocate, 9 Sep 2026; Pulse Tasmania, 9 Sep 2026

Other existing data centres

Tasmania already has several smaller colocation data centres, where businesses and government agencies rent rack space for their own servers. They are far smaller than the AI projects above. Most operators don’t publish a total power capacity, so where it isn’t public we say so rather than estimate.

Operating Standard data centre

42-24 Derwent Park and Cambridge

Location: Derwent Park and Cambridge, Greater Hobart
Capacity: Unknown (total capacity not publicly confirmed)

  • Address (Derwent Park): 104 Gormanston Rd, Moonah TAS 7009 (PeeringDB gives the suburb as Moonah)
  • Address (Cambridge): 67 Kennedy Dr, Cambridge TAS 7170
  • Operator: 42-24, a subsidiary of TasNetworks. 42-24 says that, through TasNetworks, it owns and operates two data centres, at Derwent Park and Cambridge.
  • Colocation (rented rack space). Racks take 3 kW to 21 kW each, backed by 650 kVA diesel generators. 42-24 describes them as carrier-neutral and Tasmanian Government–approved facilities.

Sources: 42-24, Co-locate page (undated, accessed 22 Oct 2026); 42-24, Data Centre page (undated, accessed 22 Oct 2026); PeeringDB, 42-24 Derwent Park record (updated 27 Sep 2025); PeeringDB, 42-24 Cambridge record (updated 27 Sep 2025)

Operating Standard data centre

Tasmania One (TAS01), formerly TasmaNet DC3

Location: Tasmanian Technopark, Dowsing Point, Greater Hobart
Capacity: Unknown in megawatts (around 35 racks, with potential for 100, per DCD)

  • Address: 40–50 Innovation Drive, Dowsing Point TAS 7010
  • Owner: DADT Pty Ltd, which bought the business from ASX-listed DXN with effect from 30 June 2026. DXN had bought it from TasmaNet in 2020. As at 1 July 2026, landlord consent for the transfer was still outstanding.
  • The new owner intends to keep operating it. Customers include Tasmanian Government agencies (ARN).
  • TasmaNet still markets “DC3” data centre services on its website.

Sources: ARN, 1 Jul 2026; DCD, 2 Jul 2026; TasmaNet, DC3 Data Centre page (undated, accessed 22 Oct 2026); PeeringDB, TAS01 Hobart record (updated 4 Sep 2026)

Operating Standard data centre

Vocus Hobart (formerly PIPE Networks Hobart)

Location: Elizabeth Street, Hobart CBD
Capacity: Unknown (not publicly confirmed)

  • Address: Level 2, 29 Elizabeth St, Hobart TAS 7000
  • Vocus lists Hobart among its colocation locations.
  • The PeeringDB facility record lists “PIPE Networks Hobart” at Level 2, 29 Elizabeth St, under Vocus Group.

Sources: Vocus, colocation datasheet (12 Aug 2025); PeeringDB facility record (updated Sep 2025)

Operating Standard data centre

Tasmanian Colo

Location: Paterson Street, Launceston CBD
Capacity: Unknown (not publicly confirmed)

  • Address: Level 1, 73 Paterson St, Launceston TAS 7250
  • A colocation data centre offering rack space from a single rack unit to multiple racks.
  • Its website says it has an independent UPS with automatic diesel generator backup, and that its power comes from 100% renewable sources (hydro and wind).

Sources: Tasmanian Colo website (undated, accessed 22 Oct 2026)

Approved but not yet built: the VIRIDIS edge data centre in Burnie (see above). Facilities that appear only in third-party directories, and that we couldn’t confirm with the operator, are listed under “What’s still just talk”.

Pending decision

Power: Hydro Tasmania’s decision on 444 MW

Firmus has asked Hydro Tasmania for a long-term contract of 444 MW across its sites, which would make it the state’s largest electricity user, ahead of Bell Bay Aluminium (355 MW). Hydro says the system is “in balance”, so new wind and solar would need to be built by third parties. It expects to decide by the end of 2026.

A June 2026 letter from Hydro to Firmus, released under Right to Information, says the riskiest period is 2028–30, when Firmus’s full load would be online before new wind farms are built. In that period Hydro could “potentially” supply about half the load firmly, with the rest depending on Basslink imports and new generation. On 20 October 2026 Firmus told a parliamentary committee that all of its energy would be developed and procured in Tasmania. At the same hearing, Firmus’s energy general manager said Firmus was still negotiating an energy deal with Hydro and would “like to be able to announce it next week”. Asked whether a legal agreement already required Hydro to source new generation in Tasmania, he first said yes, then clarified: “I don’t have an agreement.” As at 23 October 2026, Hydro’s Firmus page (last updated 18 September 2026) still says it has not made a decision and expects an outcome by the end of 2026.

In its submission to the state parliamentary inquiry, Hydro says it is weighing two broad contract models: Firmus contracting directly with renewable generators, with Hydro providing firming, or Firmus contracting with Hydro, which would procure the new generation. It is assessing Firmus’s financial capacity and the credit and contractual protections it would need, and says it would not enter into a new agreement that adversely affects energy availability to existing Tasmanian customers. Hydro notes that a Hydro contract isn’t a requirement: Firmus could look to a third party for a hedge contract and help with new generation, as it has with Gunvor Group in South Australia.

Sources: Hydro Tasmania, Firmus FAQ (updated 18 Sep 2026, checked 23 Oct 2026); ABC News, 4 Sep 2026; ABC News, 21 Oct 2026; Pulse Tasmania, 23 Oct 2026; Hydro Tasmania, inquiry submission no. 152 (undated)

Key dates

DateWhat happened / what’s nextSource
1 Jul 2025Tasmanian Government announces an “AI Factory Zone” in northern TasmaniaFirmus (govt release), Jul 2025
25 Mar 2026Aurora 104 MW power deal for Firmus Launceston reportedABC News
Apr 2026VIRIDIS Burnie permit reportedDCD, 9 Apr 2026
25 Aug 2026George Town Council approves Bell Bay (288 MW), 6–1ABC News
4 Sep 2026Hydro says it will decide on Firmus’s request by the end of 2026ABC News
7 Sep 2026Latrobe Council asks for Wesley Vale to be a Major Project. Draft state expectations for data centres releasedThe Advocate; Building Tasmania
8–9 Sep 2026Six confidential proposals revealed in a tabled documentABC News
Mid Sep 2026Firmus lodges TASCAT appeal over Bell Bay generator limitsABC News, 15 Sep 2026
Sep 2026Firmus R&D AI Factory application (125/2026, up to 26 MW) lodged with Latrobe CouncilLatrobe Council agenda
25 Sep 2026Latrobe Council notice over Wesley Vale works; Firmus pauses workPulse Tasmania
7 Oct 2026EPA Board applies to join the TASCAT appealABC News, 10 Oct 2026
9 Oct 2026Firmus withdraws its ASX float; says Tasmanian plans are unchangedABC News; ABC News, 11 Oct
14 Oct 2026Local Community Benefit Fund announcedABC News
20 Oct 2026ASIC tells the federal Joint Select Committee on AI it is making routine inquiries into the withdrawn Firmus float, but has no formal investigation openAAP; Capital Brief
20 Oct 2026Firmus questioned by a state parliamentary energy committee: St Leonards and Wesley Vale stage one fully funded; Bell Bay and other plans depend on raising capital; no Hydro agreement yetABC News, 21 Oct 2026; Pulse Tasmania, 23 Oct 2026
21 Oct 2026“Project B” (200–300 MW, north-west) confirmed at a parliamentary hearingABC News
24 Oct 2026Community group’s TASCAT appeal against the Bell Bay approval reported (12 grounds)The Examiner
26 Oct 2026Next: Latrobe Council meeting; proposed answer that 125/2026 won’t be referred as a Major ProjectLatrobe Council agenda
15 Dec 2026Next: Wesley Vale information deadlineThe Urban Developer; State Planning Office
By end of 2026Next: Hydro Tasmania decision on 444 MW (no agreement as at 23 Oct 2026); final state expectations for data centresHydro Tasmania; Building Tasmania
Early 2027Next: St Leonards go-live (expected)ABC News
First half of 2027Next: VIRIDIS Burnie go-live (target)DCD

Map of sites

Map of Tasmania, including King Island and the Furneaux Group, showing confirmed data centre sites: St Leonards (under construction), Bell Bay and Burnie (approved), Wesley Vale (proposed, works paused), and operating sites in Launceston and Greater Hobart
Confirmed and approved data centre sites in Tasmania, as at 22 October 2026. Sites approximate. Unconfirmed proposals are not shown.

What’s still just talk

These items have been reported or claimed but aren’t confirmed. We’ll move them up the page only when there’s a primary source.

  • That Nook is the chosen site for Project B, who the company is, and claims that it would be “bigger than Bell Bay”.
  • Who is behind the six confidential proposals, and where most of them would go.
  • A 50 MW concept’s interest in the closed Liberty Bell Bay smelter site (expressed interest only).
  • TASCAT hearing dates for the two Bell Bay appeals (Firmus’s generator appeal and the community appeal).
  • Earlier Firmus figures (90 MW by 2026 and a further 300 MW stage, from July 2025) differ from today’s 84 MW / 104 MW figures for St Leonards.
  • Reports of a possible private capital raise by Firmus after the float was withdrawn (unnamed sources). Firmus has said it will pursue capital from private markets, but hasn’t announced a raise.
  • Reported, unconfirmed: Nvidia, already a Firmus investor, is in talks to invest several hundred million dollars in Firmus after the failed float. This was first reported by The Information, citing unnamed people familiar with the talks, and followed by Bloomberg. Neither Firmus nor Nvidia has confirmed it (DCD, 22 Oct 2026; Bloomberg via Yahoo Finance, 21 Oct 2026).
  • Data centres that appear only in third-party directories, such as a TasmaNet “DC1” listed in the Hobart CBD, which we couldn’t confirm with the operator. One directory also mentions unnamed facilities around Launceston and Burnie.
Background: community views and policy

An EMRS poll released 26 September 2026 found 54% of Tasmanians oppose AI data centres and 25% support them (EMRS).

A House of Assembly inquiry into AI data centres lists 158 submissions (one confidential), including from Hydro Tasmania, TasNetworks, Firmus and the Tasmanian Government (Parliament of Tasmania, submissions list, accessed 26 Oct 2026; ABC News, 28 Sep 2026).

The committee says it is planning public hearings. Latrobe Council’s 26 October 2026 meeting agenda says the council has been invited to appear, with a hearing scheduled for 11 November in Devonport; the inquiry hasn’t published hearing dates (Parliament of Tasmania; Latrobe Council, 26 Oct 2026 meeting agenda (p. 308)).

Firmus’s water figures (company claims): in its inquiry submission, Firmus says current modelling for its Launceston campus puts water for cooling at around 3.4 million litres a year. It expects Bell Bay to need around 18,600 kL of water a year (about 14,400 kL for cooling and 4,200 kL for facility and fire-related use), and to capture and reuse about 10,000 kL of rainwater a year, cutting cooling-water demand from public supplies by around 69 per cent. For Wesley Vale it models around 700 kL of mains water a year and about 1,000 kL of rainwater capture (Firmus, inquiry submission no. 120).

Consultation on the draft state expectations for data centre and AI infrastructure developers closed 12 October 2026, with final expectations due by the end of 2026 (Building Tasmania). A Local Community Benefit Fund was announced on 14 October 2026 (Premier of Tasmania; ABC News).

Sources

Show all sources (51)

Last updated 26 October 2026, 12:40. Compiled from public reporting and official sources. Project details change quickly; check the linked sources for the latest. Spotted something out of date? Let us know.

Share: